All posts by Angela McClure, Extension Corn and Soybean Specialist

About Angela McClure, Extension Corn and Soybean Specialist

Extension Corn and Soybean Specialist

Upcoming Events

January 24, 2020 – Gibson County Extension Crop Production (Ed Jones Agri-plex) 8:00 a.m. – 2:45 p.m.  (Contact Philip Shelby for details)

January 30-31, 2020 – Cotton & Rice No-Till Conference (Memphis, TN)

February 3, 2020 – Henry County Extension Crop Production (Henry Co. Fairgrounds) 6 – 9 p.m. (Contact Ranson Goodman for details)

February 4, 2020 – Middle Tennessee Grain Conference (UT Space Institute in Tullahoma, TN)

February 6, 2020 – West Tennessee Grain and Soybean Conference (Dyer Co. Fairgounds, Dyersburg, TN)

February 7, 2020 – KY/TN Grain Conference (Russellville, KY)

February 11, 2020 – Haywood/Madison Extension Crop Production (Samuel T. Bryant Distillery, Jackson, TN) 9AM-12PM (Contact Jake Mallard or Lindsay Stephenson for details)

February 12, 2020 – Tennessee Agricultural Production Association Winter Agronomic Workshop (DoubleTree Hotel, Jackson, Tennessee) 8 AM – 4 PM

February 13, 2020 – Cotton Focus (West Tennessee Research and Education Center, Jackson, TN) 8 AM-12PM (lunch provided, pre-registration is not required)

Tennessee Top Bean Winners Revealed

Author:  Comments Off on Tennessee Top Bean Winners Revealed

Tennessee held the Top Bean soybean yield contest in 2019, as a collaboration between UT Extension and the Tennessee Soybean Promotion Council.  Dry, hot weather in September and excess rains in October and November, created some yield challenges for soybean producers who planted late, but yields for early planted beans were good to excellent.  Most higher yield entries were from early (late April or early May) planted soybeans planted on narrow rows.

For the contest, Tennessee was divided into five districts with first and second-place winners in each district.  The district fist-place winners automatically competed for Top Bean state yield champion in irrigated and nonirrigated production.  Congratulations to Mr. Brad Burks (Lauderdale county) who is the 2019 state winner for irrigated soybean production with 100.2 bushels/acre, and to Mr. Eric Reed (Lincoln county) who is the state winner for nonirrigated soybean production with 89.2 bushels/acre.  All district and state winners will receive additional recognition at their local Grain Conferences in February.

For a complete listing of district winners and runners-up please click on the link below:

Contest Winners